Where do I apply for a marriage license?
Maine residents must apply in the town where they reside. The license is valid in any community in Maine for a period of 90 days from the date the Intentions are filed. Couples who maintain separate Maine residences, must apply in the community in which at least one of them resides.
If one of the parties is a Maine resident, and the other resides out of state, both parties apply in the town of residence of the Maine resident. The license is valid in any community in Maine for a period of 90 days from the date the Intentions are filed.
Out of state residents may apply in any municipal office.
The license is valid for a period of 90 days from the date the Intentions are filed and is valid anywhere within the state of Maine.
How do I apply for a marriage license?
Step 1 - Intentions of Marriage
The parties must complete the Intention of Marriage Forms. The Intentions include a signed certification that the information provided is correct and that the applicant is free to marry according to the laws of this State the signatures must be witnessed by the Clerk's Office Staff or if submitting the application by mail, notarized signatures are required. The Intention of Marriage application is a legal document. You are responsible and liable for providing the information and documentation required. The paperwork must be completed and notarized (if applicable) in BLACK INK ONLY. Forms completed in any other color will not be accepted for filing.
Step 2 - Previous Marriages(s)
If either party has been previously married, a certified copy of the death certificate or divorce decree of the last marriage must be submitted to the Town Clerk at the time of filing of the Marriage Intentions. Certified means that the documents are affixed with a raised or gold seal and/or contain original signatures. A record of divorce, if not in English, must be translated into English by a disinterested 3rd person at the parties' expense.
Step 3 - Filing Fee- The filing fee is $40.00. Cash, Checks and Credit/Debit Cards are accepted for payment. Checks should be made payable to the Town of Eliot.
Step 4 - The completed Intention of Marriage Forms, filing fee and divorce/death decree(s), if applicable, must be forwarded (at a maximum of 90 days prior to the ceremony) to the Town Clerk where the parties are required to file their intentions. Couples filing in Eliot by mail, please forward the paperwork to:
Town of Eliot
Attn: Marriage License
1333 State Road
Eliot, ME 03903
Step 5 - Both parties must appear in person at the Town Clerk's office prior to the wedding ceremony to sign the marriage license. Proof of identity is required (driver's license or passport and a current address).
Any Questions regarding filing intentions of marriage and obtaining a marriage license should be directed to the Town Clerk's Office at 207-439-1817.