# **Eliot Budget Committee Meeting**

# February 1, 2016 Meeting

<u>Members present</u>: Donna Murphy (Chair), Brad Hughes, Dennis. Lentz, Phil Lytle, Jim Tessier, Dan Mannschreck and Ed Strong (via Skype)

Public attendance: 0 people

Video streaming for details was utilized.

### **Call to Order**

Meeting was called to order @6:01 PM by the Chair

#### Minutes

Review of the minutes of the 1/12/16 meeting reviewed with recommended notes/changes:

- Item # 1; police chief budgeted using current joint Town salary not single town projection
- Item #3; 9.5% anticipated in the towns portion of the Maine State Retirement, anticipated increase of 8.9 to 9.5 %
- Item #4; Health insurance is up to \$50,205 but for Admin. Only

Minutes were approved as amended; motion by Dann Mannschreck, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Jim Tessier; vote 5/0 chair concurs

Reviewed minutes of January 25<sup>th</sup>,2016; approved as presented, motion by P. Lytle 2<sup>nd</sup> by D. Lentz, Ed Strong abstained (absent for that meeting) vote 4/0 chair concurs

### **Public Comment**

No members of the public were present.

#### Misc.

Brad Hughes submitted to the committee a worksheet created "2017 Enhanced BETE Tax Rate Calculation form"; noted from the current calc. the minimum tax rate was at .0133813.8 as we wait for completed forecasting 2016-17.

# Review and discussion of the Department of Public Works Budget

- Members completed (started @ the January 25<sup>th</sup> meeting) review of the entire detail DPW budget;
- Questions were formulated and documented to clear up multiple discussion items;

# **CSD and CIP budget**

• Decision to review at February 8<sup>th</sup> meeting due to late hour;

#### Additional

Reviewed /agreed on calendar of February Meetings;

# Agenda Items for February 8th Meeting

It was decided to review the budgets for CSD and CIP

#### Adjournment

Chair accepted a motion to adjourn by Dann Mannschreck, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Jim Tessier; vote 6/0, Chair concurs. Meeting was adjourned at 9:15 PM.

Respectfully submitted Date Approved: 02/22/2016

Dennis F. Lentz, Secretary

Donna Murphy, Chair